AIB Superleague Finals Day

The AIB Superleague came to a close yesterday, with the two cup finals and the Sunday Division league play off being decided.AIB Superleague

The AIB Cup final saw Gok Wanderers face LA Galaxy Caramels, with Galaxy firm favourites to secure their league and cup double. However Gok soon showed they were not there to make up the numbers. The first half was tightly contested with both sides creating some good chances but neither side could break the deadlock and went into the break at nil all. In the second half Gok turned on the style and through a combination of clinical finishing and poor defending by LA Galaxy Caramels, Gok ran out comfortable 3 - 0 winners to claim the much coveted AIB Cup title.

After last years disappointment of finishing the season empty handed, there were calls for Two Goals One Cup to be renamed Two Goals NO Cup, however this season they wanted to set the record straight. Finishing 3rd in their league they turned their attention to the League Cup to finally claim that cup their name craved, and they were not to be disappointed as they ran out comfortable winners over Colonel Getafe. Taking a two nil lead into half time, the script was written for them to score the two goals and claim the cup their name deserved, however to the disappointment of the script writers they went on to score their third in the second half, leading to fresh calls for them to be renamed Three Goals One Cup next season.

It is not often that a league is decided with a playoff in the AIB Superleague, however All Priests over 75 and Futbolito were the run away leaders in the Sunday Division with both teams finishing level on 44 points, and a massive 11 points ahead of the chasing pack. It was the Priests who took a first half lead, only to be pegged back by Futbolito to bring the match to extra time and subsequently to penalties to become the first superleague title to ever be decided on penalties. Futbolito captain Brendan Lacey was given the chance to claim the title for his side, but saw his penalty come back off the bar, however to his delight his miss was not costly as his side claimed the title in sudden death.

Conor Delaney of All Priests Over 75 was named the AIB Superleague player of the year.

It was a thrilling end to a brilliant season for all teams involved, with celebrations and the awards taking place afterwards in the Clubhouse afterwards.

Roll of Honour:

Premier Saturday:

Winners: Sauce Pan Celtic

Runners Up: Rathfarnham FC

Division 1 Saturday: 

Winners: LA Galaxy Caramel

Runners Up: G.F.C.

Premier Sunday:

Winners: Futbolito

Runners Up: All Priests Over 75

AIB Cup: 

Winners: Gok Wanderers

Runners Up: LA Galaxy Caramel

AIB League Cup:

Winners: Two Goals One Cup

Runners Up: Colonel Getafe