UCD AFC Official Website

oneillsSSE-AirtricityUCD Mount Merrion Academy

Error: Any articles to show

E-mail Print PDF

McGroarty's a Heart Stopper

UCD knocked Sacred Heart out of the Moore Cup.lsl



UCD moved into the third round of the Moore Cup with an extra time and penalties win over fierce rivals Sacred Heart. The Leinster Senior League Sunday team had dropped all three points the previous Sunday in a hard fought game losing 2-0 but the cup offered the perfect opportunity for revenge and the Belfield Students grabbed it with both hands.


Both teams started the game determined to give nothing away which lead to an extremely cagey opening half. UCD changed to a 4-3-3 formation from the previous game and this extra attacking option gave rise to opportunities for Naill Daly and James Timmons but neither could properly capitalise to give UCD an early lead.


Marc Whelan was replaced early in the game due to injury and Tyrone McNelis added even more fire power to UCD's attacks. It was Michael Whelan on the other side of the pitch who threatened next but his effort was well saved and the 0-0 scoreline at half time reflected the competitive nature of the game.


Michael Whelan found himself again in space as he raced through the Hearts defence and attempted to square the ball to his wingman McNelis but his pass was misplaced and Sacred Hearts breathed a sigh of relief. Hearts came back at UCD forcing McGroarty in the UCD net to pull off some outstanding saves.


Extra time came and went with both sides reacting to the nervous nature of the added time. Shots from long range from both sides were all that was on show, with Eoin Roche coming closest for the Students. The game headed for penalties.


Conor McGroarty was determined to show he was not just one for the spectacular saves during the 90 minutes and grabbed his opportunity with both hands as he stopped two Sacred Hearts penalties to ensure UCD went through thanks to converted penalties from Eoin Roche, Steve Dillon, Brian O'Reilly and Niall Daly.


UCD AFC: McGroarty, O'Reilly, Lehane, C O'Brochain, Dillon, Michael Whelan, Marc Whelan (McNelis),Timmons (Bourke), Lynagh (Roche), Moran, Daly