UCD AFC Official Website

oneillsSSE Airtricity League First DivisionUCD Mount Merrion Academy

Error: Any articles to show

E-mail Print PDF

LSL Awards 2019

Our Annual end of season awards for our Leinster Senior League team took place on Tuesday night in the UCD Clubhouse Bar.IMG 0726








Freshers Player of the Year - Dara KeaneDara Keane - Freshers POTY 2019

This year's Freshers Player of the Year, Dara Keane, has made a big impact since his arrival last September, where he came through the freshers trials. It didn't take him long to progress through the ranks, skipping the Saturday team to make his debut for our LSL Senior 1 Sunday side just after Christmas. A number of stand our performances including scoring some key goals in key games helped our Sunday team maintain their Senior 1 status for another year. Those consistent performances also earned him a place in the Collingwood Cup and CUFL squads this year, and has this week also seen promoted to our League of Ireland side. 


LSL Saturday Player of the Year - James ShigginsJames Shiggins - LSL Sat POTY 2019

James in now in his fourth year at the club and has made a huge impact, starting as a Harding Cup winners in his first year in 2016. He has made an incredible come back this season after injury trouble ruled him out for much of last season, and he has been an inspirational figure on and off the pitch both at the heart of our midfield and also in his new role as a left back which he has taken to brilliantly. 



LSL Sunday Player of the Year - Lorcan HealyLorcan Healy - LSL Sun POTY 2019

In just his first year at the club since joining in September Lorcan has cemented the number one jersey as his own in our LSL Sunday side. He started out the season playing in our Saturday side, but after a number of brilliant performances, he quickly made the step up to our Sunday side and he hasn't looked back since. He has produced a number of outstanding displays, and still eligible at under 19 level he has a bright future ahead of him at the club. 


Clubman of the Year - Abdel BabikerAbdel Babiker - Clubman of the Year 2019

Abdel has shown great commitment to the club over the last four seasons at Leinster Senior League level. Having spent the first few seasons primarily playing for our Saturday side, he has recently made the step up to the Sunday team where he has made a big impression. His commitment has seen him return to full fitness after two serious knee injuries, and is now a key player for our Sunday side which is a fantastic achievement. 


Colleges Player of the Year - Josh CollinsJosh Collins - Colleges POTY 2019

With the end of the Leinster Senior League season also marking the end of this years College's season, Tuesday night also saw our College's Player of the Year crowned, with players from our League of Ireland sides and our Leinster Senior League teams all eligible to win the award. Josh Collins, who is a key player for our League of Ireland side was crowned the winner. A harding Cup winner in his first season with the club in 2016, a Collingwood Cup winner in 2016 and 2018, a Colleges and Universities League winner in 2017 and 2018, and a SSE Airtricity League First Division winner in 2018, the stats don't lie and Josh is a thoroughly deserving winner of the award. He has had great success over the last four years with the club both at College's and SSE Airtricity League level and is having another great season this year in the Premier Division.