UCD AFC Official Website

oneillsSSE Airtricity League First DivisionUCD Mount Merrion Academy

News image

v Cabinteely

UCD Bowl | Fri 16th April - KO: 7.45pm

News image

v Cabinteely

UCD Bowl | Fri 16th April - KO: 7.45pm

E-mail Print PDF

Collingwood Cup Champions 2013

UCD beat UCC 1-0 to win their 2nd Collingwood in as many years

Collingwood Cup Final 1 

 David McMillan hit the winner as UCD overcame old rivals UCC in Jordanstown on Thursday to retain university football's biggest prize.

McMillan had missed the Belfield side's quarter-final victory over Mary Immaculate College Limerick due to a slight injury, but he returned to play his part in their semi-final defeat of hosts Jordanstown.

The striker seized his opportunity to break the deadlock with 20 minutes remaining. 

McMillan picked up a misplaced pass just outside the penalty area before beating 'keeper Michael Dorgan with a low drive that seemed to take a slight deflection on its way into the net. Bense 1

McMillan could have put the result beyond any doubt in the closing minutes after Andrew Neville handled a Michael Whelan drive inside the box, but he managed to blaze his spot-kick well over Dorgan's crossbar.

UCD were the livelier side throughout the game and, with Cillian Morrison and Player of the Tournament Robbie Benson (pictured) going close with first-half efforts.

The usually dangerous UCC strike force of Simon Holland and Josh O'Shea were kept well under control by top-class performances from the rock- solid Dave O'Connor and Tomas Boyle at the heart of the Belfield boys' defence.

This is the second piece of silverware in the Belfield trophy room this year after their victory in The Harding Cup earlier this month.

UCD - M McGinley; M Langtry, T Boyle, D O'Connor, N Wright; M Whelan, R Benson, N Hanley, S Belhout; C Morrison (B O'Brolchain 53), D McMillan.Subs not used: Ryan McLaughlin, Tristan
Dent,Robbie Murray, Michael Leahy, John Kelly, Brian McDonald.

UCC -  M Dorgan; A Gannon, J O'Brien, A Neville, C Barry; C O'Callaghan (L Connolly h-t), S Mahon, H O'Donovan, E Kilcommons (P Lawless 66); J O'Shea, S Holland. Subs not used: Cian Hill, Dan Murphy, Dylan McNamara, Ian Mylod, Ryan Price.

REF - S Taylor (Belfast).

Report - John Hudson