CUFL Premier Division Champions!

UCD 4 – 1 UCCCUFL Champions 2016-17

Match Report thanks to

A hugely determined performance saw UCD storm to a 4-1 victory over UCC to capture the Colleges and Universities Premier Division title for the sixth time in 11 years in a rain lashed decider at Home Farm FC, Whitehall.

The win in this top Third Level Football competition gives the Belfield side sweet revenge for narrowly going down to UCC in last week's Irish Universities Collingwood Cup.

While UCD were deserved winners the Cork side would have to be disappointed as they never reached anything light the level of performance they gave in the cup competition.

UCD looked the sharper side from early on and they dominated the opening half but they had to wait until a minute before the break to finally go ahead.
Daire O'Connor seized on a poor clearance and succeeded in taking the ball off Sean O'Mahony before going on to beat goalkeeper Kevin O'Brien with a clinical finish.

The second half had an explosive start with UCC levelling the game three minutes in when Daniel Pender beat Niall Corbett with a neat turn and shot from close in after a fine cross from Sean O'Callaghan.Sami

Two minutes later UCD were back in front after O'Connor burst through the Cork defence and just as he was about to shoot O'Brien rushed out of his goal and upended him.

Referee Paul Tuite awarded the penalty and Gary O'Neill made no mistake from the spot kick.

UCD went on to seal the win in a two minute spell with 20 minutes remaining.

First Samir Belhout playing in his fourth Premier Final finished smartly after converting a brilliant left wing cross from Jason McClelland.

Two minutes later McClelland squeezed in the fourth from a narrow angle following fine work by O'Connor and Georgie Kelly.

UCD: N Corbet; D Tobin, J Collins, L Scales. S Coyne; G O'Neill, T Molloy (J Dineen75); S Belhout, D O'Connor (C Cannon 69), J McClelland (Y Mahdy 85); G Kelly (G Sloggett 71).
Subs not used: M Kouogun, G Sheridan, B Hanrahan.

UCC: K O'Brien; J Buttimer (D Dalton h-t), S O'Mahony, S McLoughlin, B McAuliffe; R Lynch, T Murphy (D O'Gorman 75), S O'Callaghan (M Murphy 75), D Pender, S Daly-Butz; D Lucey.
Subs not used: A O'Brien, J Cullinane. C O'Hanlon, D Bradley.

Referee: P Tuite (Dublin).