UCD AFC Official Website

oneillsSSE Airtricity League First DivisionUCD Mount Merrion Academy

Error: Any articles to show

E-mail Print PDF

UEFA Youth League Entrants Confirmed

UEFA have today officially confirmed the full list of entrants for the coming season's UEFA Youth League.Youth League

After yesterday's announcement that our place in the draw had been confirmed, we have now learnt our potential opponents in the first round draw which will take place on Tuesday in the UEFA Headquarters in Nyon.

Interestingly, a potential tie against F91 Dudelange of Luxembourg, who we beat in the Europa League First Qualifying Round in 2015 when we were last in a European Competition, could await us in the first round after they were also confirmed in the draw. Ryan Swan was the hero that time around for our senior side as he scored a goal in each leg to see us progress to the second qualifying round on away goals after the tie finished 2-2 on aggregate.

We will enter the draw in through the Domestic champions path, where the domestic youth champions of the 32 best-ranked associations in the 2016 UEFA association coefficient rankings (the same rankings used to decide access to the 2017/18 UEFA Champions League and UEFA Europa League).

• If a team was eligible for both, they enter the UEFA Champions League path.

• A vacancy in the domestic champions path (including if a club is instead eligible for the UEFA Champions League path, for example Real Madrid) was filled by the domestic youth champion of the next best-ranked association.

• Salzburg won the title last season after starting in the domestic champions path.

• For the first time there are entrants from Albania, Latvia and Luxembourg.

Here is the full list of our potential opponents:

Internazionale Milano (ITA), Bordeaux (FRA), Krasnodar (RUS), Dynamo Kyiv (UKR), Ajax (NED), Bursaspor (TUR), Sparta Praha (CZE), Dinamo București (ROU), Salzburg (AUT, holders), Lokomotiva Zagreb (CRO), Legia Warszawa (POL), Shakhtyor Soligorsk (BLR), Hammarby (SWE), Molde (NOR), Maccabi Haifa (ISR), Esbjerg (SWE), Brodarac (SRB), Kairat Almaty (KAZ), Ludogorets (BUL), Nitra (SVK), Budapest Honvéd (HUN), Zimbru Chișinău (MDA), Breidablik (ISL), Saburtalo (GEO), KäPa (FIN), Željezničar (BIH), Vllaznia (ALB), Shkëndija (MKD), UCD (IRL), Liepāja (LVA), Dudelange (LUX), Sutjeska (MNE)

See here for the full article from the UEFA Website!